Effective January 1, 2017, California law (<u>Assembly Bill 1887</u>) prohibits state-funded travel to any states that have enacted a law that voids or repeals any existing state or local protections against discrimination based on sexual orientation, gender identity, and gender expression or have enacted laws that have the effect of voiding or repealing any of these protections.

UC cannot require employees to travel to these states, regardless of funding source. Therefore, there can be no repercussions if an employee declines to travel to any state that is on the Attorney General's list of states where state-funded travel is prohibited.

State Effective Date
Alabama June 23, 2017

Arizona September 28, 2022

Arkansas June 28, 2021
Florida June 28, 2021
Idaho July 7, 2020
Indiana July 1, 2022
Iowa October 4, 2019
Kansas January 1, 2017
Kentucky June 23, 2017

LouisianaAugust 1, 2022MississippiJanuary 1, 2017MontanaJune 28, 2021

North Carolina January 1, 2017 North Dakota June 28, 2021

Ohio September 30, 2021

Oklahoma June 22, 2018
South Carolina April 15, 2019
South Dakota June 23, 2017
Tennessee January 1, 2017
Texas June 23, 2017
Utah July 1, 2022

West Virginia June 28, 2021